Service Recognition

We believe in rewarding good deeds. Students can earn volunteer rewards through our office, be nominated for University service awards and gain recognition for their service from the President of the United States.

Volunteer Rewards

Reflection is an important piece of the process of service-learning and allows students to take the necessary time to process their experiences and look critically at the social structures which play into social issues.

Students who log volunteer hours and write reflections on their service experiences are automatically entered in a drawing each semester to win prizes. This year we are offering two $250 textbook scholarship vouchers and sixteen $50 textbook scholarship vouchers.

President’s Awards for Community Service and Social Action

The Carl V. Patton President’s Awards for Community Service and Social Action recognize students, student organizations, faculty, staff and community partners who are making significant contributions to the greater Atlanta community through their outstanding commitment to service.

The recipients of these prestigious awards will have demonstrated the University’s philosophy and commitment to developing positive connections with our community to gain a better understanding of civic responsibility.

The 2015 Service Recognition Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, May 4 from 3 – 5 p.m.

Nominations for the 2015 awards have closed. For questions regarding the President’s Awards for Community Service and Social Action, please contact Jennifer Bodnar at 404-413-1552.

Past President’s Award Recipients

  • The Outstanding Community Impact Student Award is awarded to a Georgia State University student that has exemplified a commitment to service and to the community.
    • 2014: Olufemi Bab-Oke
    • 2013: Carmen Williams
    • 2012: Jasmine Speights
    • 2011: Sarah Higinbotham
    • 2010: Frank Bragg
    • 2009: Ashley Fennessey
    • 2008: Karishma Saini
    • 2007: Kheli Faulkner
    • 2006: Gaurav Bhatia
  • The Outstanding Community Impact Student Organization Award is awarded to a student organization that has an ongoing commitment to serving the community.
    • 2014: GSU Student Athlete Advisory Council
    • 2013: Panther Breakaway
    • 2012: Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated
    • 2011: Nonprofit Leadership Alliance
    • 2010: Alpha Phi Alpha
    • 2009: The Nursing Students at Georgia State (NSGS)
    • 2008: The Rialto Student Ambassadors
    • 2007: American Medical Students Association
    • 2006: Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority
  • The Outstanding Faculty or Staff Member Award is given to a person who exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism.
    • 2014: Eshe’ Collins
    • 2013: Dr. Matthew Robison
    • 2012: Alyssa Dunn
    • 2011: Dr. Julia Perilla
    • 2010: Dr. Mary Gebhardt
    • 2009: Pamela Willingham
    • 2008: Dr. Peggy Gallagher
    • 2007: Dr. Marshall Kreuter
    • 2006: Dr. Lori Elliot
  • The Outstanding University Program is awarded to a program that requires master level students to address the most critical of community needs.
    • 2014: African American Studies, Service Learning Program
    • 2013: Project Healthy Grandparents
    • 2012: Farm Workers Health Program
    • 2011: Nursing Students at Georgia State
    • 2010: Computer Assisted Debate Project
    • 2009: The Masters in Social Work Community Project (developed by the School of Social Work)
    • 2008: The Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic
    • 2007: The BioBus Program
    • 2006: After-School All-Stars
  • The Outstanding Community Partner Award honors an organization that partners with Georgia State University to serve the greater Atlanta community.
    • 2014: Gateway Center
    • 2013: SafeHouse Outreach
    • 2012: Fulton County Schools Homeless Program
    • 2011: Agape and the Masters of Social Work program
    • 2010: H.A.B.E.S.H.A., INC.
    • 2009: The Study Hall after-school enrichment program
    • 2008: The Enchanted Closet
    • 2007: Georgia Justice Project
    • 2006: Community Housing Resource Center

President’s Volunteer Service Award

Students who completed 100 hours or more of community service during a calender year are eligible for the President’s Volunteer Service Award. Recipients receive a personalized certificate, an official pin and a congratulatory letter from the president of the United States. Students must log their hours in OrgSync in order to be eligible for this award.

If you have any questions regarding how to log your volunteer hours in order to be eligible for various rewards please contact Alicia Bellezza-Watts, 404-413-1551.

“We must each do our part, and give as long as we are able — while we have something to give.”

-Albert Loden